The Ireland Wolfhounds team to face England Saxons this Saturday has been announced, with eight Leinster players in the squad…

Rhys Ruddock will lead the Ireland Wolfhounds against England Saxons at Kingsholm on Saturday evening. There is also a welcome return for hooker Richardt Strauss who has been named on the replacements bench.

The squad announced by Ireland Wolfhounds head coach Anthony Foley contains some exciting combinations right across the selection.

The front row sees Munster, Ulster and Leinster combine in the shape of David Kilcoyne, Rob Herring and Martin Moore. Ulster’s Iain Henderson and Dan Tuohy are named in the second row.

Rhys Ruddock, Tommy O’Donnell and Robin Copeland form an all-action back row unit, while Leinster’s Isaac Boss and Ian Madigan pair up at half-back.

Darren Cave and Robbie Henshaw will join forces in an exciting centre partnership with the back-three made up of Craig Gilroy, Fergus McFadden and Felix Jones.

The Wolfhounds can count on a strong bench which includes Jack McGrath, Stephen Archer, Robbie Diack, Jordi Murphy, Kieran Marmion and Ian Keatley as well as two players who have recently returned from long injury lay-offs – Richardt Strauss and Simon Zebo.

Saturday’s encounter will be broadcast live on Sky Sports 1, with coverage beginning at 4.45pm. The Saxons won last year’s meeting at the Sportsground in Galway, with George Ford kicking them to a 14-10 victory.

IRELAND WOLFHOUNDS Team & Replacements (v England Saxons, ‘A’ International Match, Saturday, January 25, Kingsholm, kick-off 5pm):

15. Felix Jones (Shannon/Munster)
14. Fergus McFadden (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
13. Robbie Henshaw (Buccaneers/Connacht)
12. Darren Cave (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster)
11. Craig Gilroy (Dungannon/Ulster)
10. Ian Madigan (Blackrock College/Leinster)
9. Isaac Boss (Terenure College/Leinster)
1. David Kilcoyne (UL Bohemians/Munster)
2. Rob Herring (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
3. Martin Moore (Lansdowne/Leinster)
4. Iain Henderson (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
5. Dan Tuohy (Ballymena/Ulster)
6. Rhys Ruddock (St. Mary’s College/Leinster) CAPTAIN
7. Tommy O’Donnell (UL Bohemians/Munster)
8. Robin Copeland (Cardiff Blues)


16. Richardt Strauss (Old Wesley/Leinster)
17. Jack McGrath (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
18. Stephen Archer (Cork Constitution/Munster)
19. Robbie Diack (Malone/Ulster)
20. Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster)
21. Kieran Marmion (Corinthians/Connacht)
22. Ian Keatley (Young Munster/Munster)
23. Simon Zebo (Cork Constitution/Munster)