Robert Deacon (Old Wesley RFC) succeeded Lorcan Balfe at the Leinster Branch AGM last night and is the sixth president of the Leinster Branch from Old Wesley RFC. He will be the 100th President of the Leinster Branch for the 2019/20 season.

Deacon went to school in Kilkenny College and has been a member of Old Wesley RFC for the past 46 years, where he played, was part of the team management and was president of Old Wesley RFC in the 2007/08 season.

He has been involved with the Leinster Branch for over three years, as a representative on the Leinster Branch management committee.

Also elected at the AGM were incoming Senior Vice President, John Walsh (Naas RFC), this will see Naas hold the presidency for the first time ever.

There was also a piece of history as Debbie Carthy (South East Area) was elected Junior Vice President.

Carthy is a long time member of Wexford Wanderers RFC and has been on both the Women’s and PRO committees, along with being a representative of the South East Area.

She will be the first female President of the Leinster Rugby Branch when she becomes the 102nd President in two years’ time.