Ahead of the captain’s run in UCD this afternoon, Leinster Rugby head coach Leo Cullen has announced his starting XV for the visit to Scotstoun tomorrow for Round 9 of the Guinness PRO12 (Kick Off: 3.00pm – live on SKY Sports).

There are eight changes to the XV that started last weekend’s 8-3 win over Ulster with a further two positional changes in the backs. 

Rob Kearney is again selected to start from full back, although he failed a late fitness test last week with Isa Nacewa filling in for the 67 times Irish capped full back.

Zane Kirchner is again selected on the right wing with Dave Kearney coming in on the left for only his second PRO12 appearance of the season.

Last week’s Guinness PRO12 Man of the Match Luke Fitzgerald moves from the left wing to inside centre for his 145th Leinster cap. Ben Te’o will line up alongside him at 13. 

In the half backs Ian Madigan shifts from the centre to number 10, with Eoin Reddan starting at scrumhalf for his 125th appearance in blue. Reddan came on after 31 minutes against Ulster for the injured Luke McGrath who is ruled out of the game with a medial ligament injury to his knee.  

It’s a completely new front row as Cullen calls up three Irish capped front rowers in Cian Healy, Richardt Strauss and Marty Moore, while Tom Denton comes in to partner Mike McCarthy in the second row.

Rhys Ruddock and Josh van der Flier will start at blind side and open side respectively, while Jordi Murphy comes in at the base of the scrum. Ruddock will also captain the team for the first time this season as he closes in on 100 caps for the province. 


15. Rob Kearney
14. Zane Kirchner
13. Ben Te’o
12. Luke Fitzgerald 
11. Dave Kearney 
10. Ian Madigan
9. Eoin Reddan
1. Cian Healy 
2. Richardt Strauss
3. Marty Moore
4. Tom Denton
5. Mike McCarthy 
6. Rhys Ruddock CAPTAIN
7. Josh van der Flier 
8. Jordi Murphy 

16. Sean Cronin 
17. Peter Dooley 
18. Tadhg Furlong 
19. Ross Molony
20. Dominic Ryan 
21. Isaac Boss
22. Cathal Marsh 
23. Garry Ringrose 

Referee: Nigel Owens (WRU, 129th competition game)
Assistant Referees: Lloyd Linton, Dunx McClement (both SRU)
Citing Commissioner: Paul Minto (SRU)
TMO: Jim Yuille (SRU)