James Ryan was last night named Men’s Player of the Year at the Guinness Rugby Writers of Ireland Awards, becoming the youngest ever recipient.

Twenty-three-year-old Ryan was recognised at the annual RWI awards dinner held in Dublin adding yet more silverware to his impressive personal collection in 2019.

This latest accolade follows on from his double award win at the Rugby Players Ireland Awards in May where he claimed both the Players’ Player of the Year and the Nevin Spence Young Player of the Year crowns.

He was also deemed the Bank of Ireland Players’ Player of the Year by his peers at the Leinster Rugby Awards Ball in April.

Newly appointed Leinster Academy Manager Noel McNamara and his Ireland U20 team were also acknowledged, winning the Dave Guiney Team of the Year award following their Six Nations Grand Slam.


Men’s Player of the Year: James Ryan (Leinster and Ireland)

Tom Rooney Award: Joe Schmidt

Women’s Player of the Year: Ciara Griffin (UL Bohemians, Munster and Ireland)

Dave Guiney Team of the Year: Ireland Under-20 Mens

Men’s Sevens Player of the Year: Jordan Conroy

Women’s Sevens Player of the Year: Amee-Leigh Murphy

Club of the Year: Cork Constitution

Hall of Fame Inductee: Michael Kiernan