Over 100 Adult players attended the Annual De La Salle Palmerston players dinner last Saturday night at Kirwan Park, the highlight of which was the presentation of a prestigious Players Player award, to one player on each team…

The awards were presented on the night by Club President Dominic O’Brien. The winners who had been selected by their fellow peers, were: 1st Xv – Conor Power Snr, Under-21 Hawks – Killian O’Sullivan, Under-21 Eagles – Shane Hanlon, J1 – Cormac Power, J2 – Collie Murdock, J3 – David Ryan and J4 – Emmet Nealon.

On the night Director of Rugby Conor McCormick was compare and in his speech he complimented the players for the efforts on the pitch, noting that the J3 and J4 teams had won Leinster Branch League Pennants for the club and that five teams also reached the semi final stages of knock out competitions. Also that the club had honoured all our fixtures throughout the season and actually entered a team in the J6 cup to facilitate the huge playing numbers in the club this season.

Both Conor and Dominic also used the occasion to acknowledge the excellent work that has been done by the Management Committee in investing in club facilities over the last three years. In particular the new match standard floodlights on the top two pitches (that were opened in March), they also announced continued investment that is planned during the summer, for a new gym and kitchen facilities.

The night finished with club member Jacek Dusznik presenting a plaque to the club, to thank it for the hospitality and friendship that he has received in the FIVE years he is with the club since he joined, when he moved from Poland to Dublin. Jacek, who played at wing forward on the J2 team this year, received a standing ovation from those in attendance for this memorable gesture.