Director of Rugby at De La Salle Palmerston, Conor McCormick, introduced a new date to the club calendar this year, with an end of season Touch tournament…

The event took place at a sun drenched Kirwan Park last Saturday, with the idea of the event being to finish a memorable season and build towards next year with the integration of members at all levels and ages playing together.

Certainly Conor had a deal done with the gods regarding the weather and nearly 100 players turned up at registration to play.

At €;10 each to cover, registration, BBQ and complimentary pint, it offered exceptional value for money, with an added bonus of getting to know other members and friends who lined out on the day, including some famous DLSP names of years gone by including: Maurice Mann, Brendan Kennelly, Dave Owens, Frank Ennis, Martin Huggard, Stephen Hayes, Declan Farrelly and Eddie Morton.

Peter Ashbrowne of touch rugby Ireland, Peter Fields, Garry Gelnn, Ed Sheridan, John Reynolds and other volunteers on the day, were instrumental in ensuring that the day was very well organised and ran smoothly.

The wining team was captained by Jerry O’Brien, managed by former DLSP President John Phelan and included: Keith Taite, Kevin Wyer, Eoin Collins, Ian Burke (current Leinster Schools scrum half panelist), Dave O’Donnell, Kevin Stiles, Scott Finlay, James Walters, Stephen Hayes & Liam Carroll.

Special mention for Kevin Wyer on the team, who recently turned the big 60 and was a legend on the De La Salle Churchtown and DLSP teams he played for at Junior level, where he was renowned for being one of the fiercest tacklers to wear the club colours.

They won 2 tries to nil, with the winning try coming from James Walters in the second half and beat a team Captained by current DLSP Club Captain Philip De Barra.

Thanks again to Conor and his idea will now become an annual date in the DLSP diary! Let’s hope next year is as enjoyable and successful.