The Leinster Rugby Schools Top XV, chosen for outstanding performance in the Bank of Ireland Leinster Schools Senior Cup, has been named.

As featured in today’s Irish Independent, 2019 Senior Cup winners St Michael’s boasted the largest contingent with seven players selected.

Captain Mark Hernan, Will Hickey, John Fish and Jack Boyle were named in the forwards while scrum-half Rob Gilsenan, Chris Cosgrave and Andrew Smith were among the backs.

Beaten finalists Gonzaga had four players featured, namely, Jack Connolly, Conor Hennessy, Henry Godson and Jack Barry.

Belvedere College’s Andrew Synnott and Matthew Grogan were chosen at hooker and wing, respectively.

The Top XV was completed by one player from each of Clongowes Wood and CBC Monkstown.

Flanker Tom Gilheany of Clongowes was chosen at openside while CBC’s James Reynolds took the No 13 shirt.

The commemorative jerseys were presented to the players by the Irish Independent’s Tony Ward and Bank of Ireland’s Vincent Milroy.

Leinster Schools Top XV
15. Conor Hennessy (Gonzaga)
14. Jack Connolly (Gonzaga)
13. James Reynolds (CBC Monkstown)
12.Andrew Smith (St Michael’s)
11. Matthew Grogan (Belvedere)
10. Chris Cosgrave (St Michael’s)
9. Rob Gilsenan (St Michael’s)
1. Henry Godson (Gonzaga)
2. Andrew Synnott (Belvedere)
3. Jack Boyle (St Michael’s)
4. Jack Barry (Gonzaga)
5. John Fish (St Michael’s)
6. Mark Hernan (St Michael’s)
7. Tom Gilheany (Clongowes)
8. Will Hickey (St Michael’s)