Leinster Clubs Interpro Ruadhan McDonnell led Wilson’s Hospital to a convincing six-try victory over Maynooth at Leixlip in the Bank of Ireland Vinnie Murray Cup first round on Friday.

Maynooth were hit by the late withdrawal of their tight-head Daniel Murphy, forcing captain Shane Sweeney to move from number eight to the front row which took away from their carrying power in the back row.
Before they knew it, they were staring at a 12-pont deficit as McDonnell showed his class and fly-half Stephen Gill crossed, while converting the first. 
Maynooth centre Cathal Travers did steady the ship with the first of his two penalties as their forwards did what they could to lift the siege.
A real hammer blow arrived right on half-time as McDonnell was the man in position to ground the ball for 17-3 at the interval. 
The losers came into the game in the third quarter by using the ball better as Sweeney and Donnacha Mescal, their number eight, began to make an impact.
They just couldn’t get into their phase game without handing the ball back.
However, Travers did strike three more in the 41st minute to make it 17-6 and followed that up with more pressure which yielded penalties they couldn’t turn into more points.   
Centre Jason Shekleton and prop Jeff Gordon were industrious in their attitude for Wilson’s as they kept ticking over without making their dominance complete until the final ten minutes.
It was then that hooker Andrew Payton, Shekleton and scrum-half Daniel McHugh glossed the scoreboard with three late tries.  


At MU Barnhall RFC – Wilson’s Hospital 36 (R McDonnell 2 tries; S Gill try, 3 cons; A Payton, D McHugh, J Shekleton try each); Maynooth Post Primary 6 (C Travers 2 pens).
Wilson’s: Ian McCormack; Dan Higgins, Andrew Moorehead, Jason Shekleton, James Butler; Stephen Gill, Daniel McHugh; Ross Curran, Andrew Payton, Jeff Gordon, Marvyn Lloyd, Matthew Dunlop, Charles Flynn, Alan Crowe (capt), Ruadhan McDonnell.      
Replacements Used: Josh Anidi, Daniel Eziashi, William Ashmore.
Maynooth: Kevin Dunne; Cian Farrell, Luke Gisbey, Cathal Travers, Peter Donaldson; Paul Damery, Louis Bradley; Cedric Fokham, Aidan Brophy, Shane Sweeney (capt), Seamus Milner, Conor Campbell, Jack Travers, Dylan McCarron, Donnacha Mescal.
Replacements Used: Thomas Jones, Kyle Hussey, Emmet Stout John Coakley.