St Michael’s got straight down to business, kicking long, recovering the ball for left wing Zach Harrison to stretch the game and prop Lee Barron to send centre Tim Gilsenan to the sticks.

Centre Christopher Cosgrave converted for 7-0 in the first minute.

Leinster Schools Junior Cup

The pressure came again, Kilkenny prop Scott Neale doing wonders to hold flanker Willian Hickey up over the line.

This preceded a scrum and number eight Jack Boyle’s drive for the line, Cosgrave adding the conversion.

Kilkenny were not inclined to opt for the percentages, shifting the ball into the hands of their speedy left wing Ross Jacob.

Leinster Schools Junior Cup

Loose-head Barron was moving like a centre, creating the opening for Cosgrave to knife through a gap and convert in the 16th minute.

Kilkenny full-back Matthew Hodgins prevented a fourth with a fine piece of defence against the dual threat of Harrison and Hickey before Barron powered to the posts for another seven.

Then, St Michael’s maul went for fully 20 metres for a try by tight-head prop James Power and Niall Carroll dotted down from another mesmeric attack sparked by Barron, Cosgrave converting both for 42-0 at the break.

The tide of play continued with number eight Jack Boyle crashing through two tackles for the next try.

Leinster Schools Junior Cup

Kilkenny resorted to driving through the guts of the defence until they were turned over and Tim Gilsenan hared into space for Cosgrave to convert.

The never-say-enough attitude of the Marble City school was exemplified in the carry of out-half Charlie Tector for a superb try which he also converted for 54-7 in the 45th minute.

It was left to Cosgrave to pick up his second, third and fourth tries and a couple of conversions before Harrison added the latter.

St Michael’s College 75 Kilkenny College 7

At Donnybrook – ST MICHAEL’S COLLEGE 75 (C Cosgrave 4 tries, 9 cons; J Boyle, T Gilsenan 2 tries each; N Carroll, L Barron, J Power try each; Z Harrison con); KILKENNY COLLEGE 7 (C Tector try, con).

St Michael’s: Eddie Kelly; Simon O’Kelly, Christopher Cosgrave, Tim Gilsenan, Zach Harrison; Niall Carroll, Jeffrey Woods; Lee Barron, Conor Booth, James Power, Stephen Woods, Jack Guinane, Oscar Hurley, William Hickey (capt), Jack Boyle.

Replacements: Senan O’Shea for O’Kelly ht; Ben Quigley for Power, Josh Egan for Hurley both 36 mins; Cameron Baird for Booth, Brian Cuddy for Barron, Joaquin Gali for J Woods, Hugo McWade for Kelly all 40 mins; Hugo Stapleton for Hickey 50 mins.

Kilkenny: Matthew Hodgins; Adam Strong, Johnny Crossley, Ryan Strong, Ross Jacob; Charlie Tector, Josh Coyle; Scott Neale, Darragh O’Reilly (capt), Craig Chamney, Dylan Watchorn, Liam Fennell, Noah Pim, Glen Culbert, Chris Reynolds.

Replacements: Finlay Grace for Crossley 19 mins – temp; Raymond Armitage for Neale, Colm Meenagh for Watchorn, Finlay Grace for Jacob all 40 mins; Dan O’Neill for R Strong 53 mins; Cillian Birney for Coyle, Dylan Whitford for Chamney, Sam Treacy for Pimm, Adam Holmes for Fennell all 55 mins.

Referee: Barry Armstrong, Leinster Branch.