The Ireland Club Team to play their Scottish counterparts in Millbrae, Ayr on Friday night (KO: 7:30pm) has been named and includes 9 Leinster representatives in the starting XV with a further 5 on the bench…

The Ireland Club XV will be defending their Dal Riada Trophy which they won last season.

The 23 man squad shows eight changes, including five new caps from the side which defeated England Counties last month.

Gerry Hurley of Cork Constitution will again captain the side and he has a new partner at ten as Gavin Dunne comes in for his first cap.

Richie Mullane is again selected at fullback Cian Ahearne and Darragh Fanning on the wings Stuart Morrow and Killian Lett form the centre partnership.

Colm McMahon, Risteard Byrne and KevinGriffin form the front row with Simon Crawford and Ben Reilly in the second row.

The back row is unchanged with William Ryan and Danny Kenny packing down alongside Frank Cogan.

In the replacements Charlie Butterworth, Brian Quill, Darragh Lyons and Foster Horan are all in line to win their first Club International cap.


15: Richard Mullane (Shannon)
14: Cian Ahearne (Lansdowne)
13: Killian Lett (Clontarf)

12: Stuart Morrow (Ballynahinch)
11: Darragh Fanning (St. Mary’s College)
10: Gavin Dunne (St. Mary’s College)*

9: Gerry Hurley (Cork Constitution) CAPTAIN

1: Colm McMahon (St. Mary’s College)
2: Ristead Byrne (UCD)

3: Kevin Griffin (Shannon)
4: Simon Crawford (Clontarf)
5: Ben Reilly (Clontarf)

6: William Ryan (UCC)
7: Danny Kenny (UCD)
8: Frank Cogan (Cork Constitution)


16: Pat O’Regan (Old Belvedere)
17: Richard Sweeney (St. Mary’s College)
18: Charlie Butterworth (Lansdowne)*

19: Brian Quill (UCC)*
20: Sam Cronin (Clontarf)
21: Darragh Lyons (Cork Constitution)*
22: Foster Horan (Lansdowne)*

*Denotes Uncapped Player