Leinster U18 Schools 39 IQ Exiles 24

Leinster Rugby U18 Schools’ quest to retain the Interprovincial series now rests on Sunday afternoon’s meeting with Munster Rugby in UL (KO 5pm).

Coach Andy Skehan changed half the team that saw off Ulster in the first round.

“The changes were a reflection of the priorities on testing and identifying talent,” said Skehan.

Despite the conditions, Leinster still managed to put five tries on the board highlighting the strength in depth at Skehan’s disposal.

They took the decision to give whatever the Exiles gave them, the spread defence making it easier for Leinster to make ground closer in.

Left wing Zach Harrison struck penalties in the 12th and 28th minutes to sandwich an Exiles try.

It was two quick tries from hooker Scott Barron and centre Daniel Hawkshaw, Harrison converting both, that pushed Leinster 20-7 clear at the break.

Then, it was prop Rory McGuire’s turn to sandwich the Exiles second try with a brace of his own in the 40th and 46th minutes to make it a 20-point game.

The last effort came from loose-head Jack Boyle, the fourth for a front row forward to complete a well-rounded performance before the Exiles came on strong towards the end.

“The team is progressing well. We’re happy with where we’re at,” added Skehan.

“We still have a lot of areas where we can be better. We know that.

“We will park this tomorrow and go about making the improvements necessary for Munster on Sunday.”

Scorers – Leinster Schools: R McGuire 2 tries; S Barron, J Boyle, D Hawkshaw try each; Z Harrsion 2 pens, 2 cons; C Tector 2 cons.

Leinster U18 Schools
15. Dylan O’Grady (Belvedere)
14. Tom Henderson (Blackrock)
13. Lucas Berti-Newman (Newbridge) / Charlie Tector (Kilkenny) ht
12. Daniel Hawkshaw (Belvedere)
11. Zach Harrison (St Michael’s) / Calum O’Reilly (St Michael’s) 65 mins
10. Hugo McWade (St Michael’s)
9. Fintan Gunne (St Michael’s).
1. Jonathan Sargent (Belvedere) / Jack Boyle (St Michael’s) 50 mins
2. Scott Barron (Blackrock)
3. Rory McGuire (Blackrock) / Luke McMahon (Clongowes Wood) 50 mins
4. Mark Morrissey (Blackrock) CAPTAIN
5. Diarmuid Mangan (Newbridge)
6. Stephen Woods (St Michael’s) / Cameron Baird (St Michael’s) 42 mins
7. Eoghan Rutledge (Belvedere)
8. David Walsh (Blackrock) / Donough Lawlor (Newbridge) 25 mins / Conor Booth (St Michael’s) 55 mins