Temple Carrig School are the first to book their place in the Bank of Ireland Father Godfrey Cup final.

The win also sees them seal a berth in the first round of the Schools Junior Cup as a qualifier.

Temple Carrig School 16 St Patrick’s Classical School 14

Temple Carrig just about survived a ferocious St Patrick’s comeback to make the Bank of Ireland Leinster Schools Father Godfrey Cup final at Energia Park.

The Wicklow school took their chances to move into a strong lead, Daniel Burns picking and driving for the line in the sixth minute.

While it was far from one-way in the first half, St Patrick’s struggled to break down a disciplined defence in which centre Marc Homan and flankers Burns and Frank O’Shea led the resistance.

At the other end, a fine move ended with wing Oisin Ivory finishing in style to double the lead to 10-0 in the 25th minute.

Out-half Darragh Shanahan’s 39th-minute penalty looked to have put Temple Carrig out of sight.

However, the Navan boys started to find joy, out-half Phillip Smith breaking the gain line and a blazing attack allowed replacement David Donnelly to out-flank the cover from inside his own half, Smith converting in the 51st minute.

The tide of possession was turned back again for Shanahan to slot a penalty for 16-7 in the 53rd minute.

Yet, the Meath school got their lineout together in time for captain Jack Shorten to take back-to-back throws, the second enabling Ciaran Scott to crash over for Smith to convert in the 57th minute.

It was all hands to the pump as Temple Carrig had to repel late pressure from a St Patrick’s five-metre scrum and one last backline move.

Temple Carrig won’t know whether they will face St Fintan’s High School or CBC Monkstown in the final as that semi-final has been postponed until next Thursday.

They also move on to meet Clongowes Wood College in the first round of the Junior Cup on March 4.

Scorers – Temple Carrig: D Burns, C Ivory try each; D Shanahan two pens. St Patrick’s Classical School: D Donnelly, C Scott try each; P Smith two cons.

Temple Carrig – Gavin Lincoln; Oisin Ivory, Corey O’Brien, Marc Homan, Freddie Packman; Darragh Shanahan, Jack Caffrey; Federico Ascoli, Donnacha Gleeson, Daragh Keogh; Nicko Stewart, Alec Bartak; Daniel Burns, Frank O’Shea, Ben Griffiths.

Replacements: Evan Grogan-Lenehan, Tom Scully, Lucas O’Gorman, Lucas Fitzgerald, Calen O’Callaghan-Lawniczak, Thomas Lawniczak, Dylan Burke, Paul Tilson.

St Patrick’s Classical School – Eoin Burke; Ciall Flynn, James Donnelly, Ivo Fitzherbert, Ryan White; Phillip Smith, Dean Reynolds; Adam McHugh, Robbie Davis, Patrick Yourell, Jack Shorten, Nathan Ryan, Alex Carter, Luke Kennedy, Ciaran Scott.

Replacements: Killian McEniff, Conor Boles, Thomas Kearns, Alex Sheridan, Daniel Egan, Daniel Heverin, David Donnelly, Killian Heffernan.