The 2019/20 Shane Horgan Cup kicks off this week with the first round of fixtures taking place at Cill Dara RFC in the North Midlands area.

Last year’s U16 competition met an exciting finish with both North Midlands and South East representative teams sitting joint top of the table heading into the final round.

The crown eventually went the way of North Midlands for the first time thanks to their 23-8 win over the Midlands area in the final game.

With Metro having a narrow 27-26 victory over South East in the other final round game which proved to be one of the best contests of the competition, that left the North Midlands area sitting alone on top at the close of business.

All sides will be looking to get off to the perfect start on Friday when the action starts.

North Midlands will face Midlands in Round 1’s first game at 6.45pm which is followed by South East and Metro locking horns at 7.45pm.

North East have received a BYE for the first round and will start their campaign in Round 2 against South East on Wednesday, 30 October.

Squads (starting this weekend)


Ray Bruen (Westmanstown RFC)
Colin Byrne (Barnhall RFC)
Luke Byrne (Barnhall RFC)
Conor Cribbon (Suttonians RFC)
Simon Cunningham (Suttonians RFC)
Killian Doherty (Barnhall RFC)
David Donohue (Lansdowne FC)
Ben Dyer (Clontarf FC)
Alex Flynn (Barnhall RFC)
Evan Gernon (St Mary’s College RFC)
Ben Gouldson (Old Wesley RFC)
Josh Hanson (Suttonians RFC)
Oscar Hurley (Old Wesley RFC)
Isaac Judge (Clontarf FC)
Josh Keogh (St Mary’s College RFC)
Tom Larke (Old Wesley RFC)
Darragh Matthews (Clontarf FC)
Sean Maybury (Clontarf FC)
Peter McCabe (Old Wesley RFC)
Breifne McCann (Lansdowne FC)
Caolan McDonagh (Barnhall RFC)
Conor McLaughlin (Suttonians RFC)
Cian McMahon (Coolmine RFC)
Finn McSorley (Malahide RFC)
Jack Nolan (Lansdowne FC)
Turlough O’Brien (DLSP FC)
Taylor O’Sullivan (Greystones RFC)
Louis Perrim (Wanderers FC)
Senan Phelan (St Mary’s College RFC)
Anrai Poole (Suttonians RFC)
Daniel Rigney (Old Wesley RFC)
Daniel Simpson (Clontarf FC)
Matthieu Taieb (Clontarf FC)


Ross Ashmore (Mullingar RFC)
Eoin Burke (Birr RFC)
Ronan Collum Smith (Longford RFC)
Jamie Conlon (Birr RFC)
Cian Conroy (Edenderry RFC)
Aaron Corcoran (Birr RFC)
Gavin Courage (Edenderry RFC)
Marcus Dalton (Tullamore RFC)
Tadgh Dowdall (Tullamore RFC)
Darragh Earley (Birr RFC)
Evan Fitzpatrick (Tullamore RFC)
Darragh Guinan (Birr RFC)
Davy Maloney (Mullingar RFC)
James Martin (Tullamore RFC)
Daire McCormack (Mullingar RFC)
John Moonety (Edenderry RFC)
Eoin Murtagh (Longford RFC)
Fionn O’Grady (Edenderry RFC)
Fionn Redmond (Tullamore RFC)
Max Ripley (Mullingar RFC)
Dean Rogan (Longford RFC)
Jamie Rowan (Tullamore RFC)
Danny Walsh (Birr RFC)
Davy Williams (Mullingar RFC)


Mark Alexander (Naas RFC)
Harry Bradbury (Athy RFC)
Adam Brennan (Clane RFC)
Josh Byrne (Athy RFC)
Jamie Carroll (Naas RFC)
Eoin Clarke (Cill Dara RFC)
Oisin Cooke (Clane RFC)
Fionn Cooke (Clane RFC)
Jack Crampton (Naas RFC)
Mikie Daly (Portlaoise RFC)
Joshua Deveraux (Athy RFC)
Ben Fallon (Clondalkin RFC)
James Forde (Naas RFC)
Oisin Grufferty (Athy RFC)
Rory Grufferty (Athy RFC)
Niall Hanlon (Athy RFC)
Aidan Henry (Athy RFC)
Keith Holligan (Athy RFC)
Darragh Jewell (Portarlington)
James Keegan (Newbridge RFC)
Odhran Kelly (Naas RFC)
Bobo Lawai (Portlaoise RFC)
Adel Mahmood (Naas RFC)
Jack McCann (Portarlington RFC)
Max McLoughlin (Newbridge RFC)
Ben McMahon (Portarlington RFC)
Manny Muritala (Clondalkin RFC)
Charlie Murphy (Naas RFC)
Paul O’Dwyer (Naas RFC)
Dylan O’Keefe (Newbridge RFC)
Scott O’Keefe (Newbridge RFC)
Aaron Plunkett (Clane RFC)
Charlie Sheridan (Naas RFC)
Kyle Stacy (Portarlington RFC)
Sean Tipper (Naas RFC)
Ethan Travers (Naas RFC)
Sean Ward (Portlaoise RFC)


Oisin Beirne (Arklow RFC)
Aaron Bolger (Carlow RFC)
Eoin Brophy (Tullow RFC)
Ben Butler (Tullow RFC)
Marco Byrne (Enniscorthy RFC)
Michael Byrne (Wicklow RFC)
Kaylem Codd (Wexford Wanderers RFC)
Bobby Connolly (Wexford Wanderers RFC)
Jody Doyle Hutton (Carlow RFC)
Sean Doyle (Gorey RFC)
Colm Donnelly (Gorey RFC)
Dean Farrell (Arklow RFC)
Jack Fitzgerald (Tullow RFC)
Scott Fitzpatrick (Wicklow RFC)
Samuel Geraghty (Enniscorthy RFC)
Tom Hodgkinson (Wicklow RFC)
Adam Johnson (Tullow RFC)
James Kalyta (Enniscorthy RFC)
Alan Kehoe (New Ross RFC)
Darragh Kehoe (Enniscorthy RFC)
Oran Kelly (Arklow RFC)
Marc Kinch (Gorey RFC)
Ben Lawless (Tullow RFC)
Conor Luddy (Wicklow RFC)
Mark McDermott (Tullow RFC)
Niki Moelders (Wicklow RFC)
Liam Nicholson (Wicklow RFC)
Chris O’Brien (Arklow RFC)
Luke O’Connor (Wexford Wanderers RFC)
James O’Donnell (Wicklow RFC)
Grant Palmer (Wexford Wanderers RFC)
Aaron Quigley (Enniscorthy RFC)
Harry Roche (Wexford Wanderers RFC)
Ruairi Scully (Carlow RFC)
Jamie Tobin (Arklow RFC)
Eoin Townsend (Carlow RFC)
James Whelan (Tullow RFC)
Sean Whelan (New Ross RFC)

U16 Shane Horgan Cup Fixtures 2019/20

Round 1 – North Midlands (Friday, 30 August)

North Midlands v Midlands (KO 6.45pm)
South East v Metro (KO 7.45pm)
North East BYE

Round 2 – Midlands (Wednesday, 30 October)

Midlands v Metro
South East v North East
North Midlands BYE

Round 3 – Metro (Thursday, 2 January)

Metro v North East
North Midlands v South East
Midlands BYE

Round 4 – North East (Wednesday, 19 February)

North East v Midlands
Metro v North Midlands
South East BYE

Round 5 – South East

South East v Midlands
North Midlands v North East
Metro BYE