It will be a big weekend for women’s rugby in Leinster as both the U18 Girls and the Leinster Women are sitting top of their Interprovincial tables going into the final round of matches.

The U18 Girls will take on Connacht in another winner-take-all encounter, with the senior team taking Munster later that day at Energia Park (KO 7.30pm).

Age Grade Girls rugby has been growing in recent years, and Women’s Development Officer Jennie Bagnall attributes this season’s incredibly talented squad of 30 girls to a vast increase in player numbers.

So far in their Interprovincial Series, they have defeated Munster, winning 31-14 at Irish Independent Park.

Last week the girls travelled to Portadown RFC to take on Ulster, coming out on top, 22-7, in a physical contest.

The Connacht U18 Girls have also had a superb series, beating Ulster and Munster at home.

Ahead of both games, the Leinster U18 Girls and Women’s teams will be wearing pink t-shirts in their warm up to remember Noeleen Spain. Noeleen was the Leinster Girls and Minis representative for over a decade. She gave a huge amount of time, passion and energy to developing girls’ rugby in Leinster and never missed an opportunity to see the girls, women, or men of Leinster play.

Leinster Rugby U18 Girls

15. Ella Roberts (Wicklow RFC)
14. Ali Miley (Naas RFC)
13. Ciara Faulkner (Mullingar RFC)
12. Kathryn Dempsey (New Ross RFC)
11. Molly Fitzgerald (Navan RFC)
10. Ava Jenkins (Mullingar RFC)
9. Ciara Carbery (Cill Dara RFC)
1. Meadhbh OCallaghan (Dundalk RFC)
2. Jessica Keating (Old Belvedere RFC)
3. Rachel Murtagh (Naas RFC)
4. Judy Bobbett (Blackrock College RFC) CAPTAIN
5. Holly Leach (MU Barnhall RFC)
6. Katelynn Doran (Cill Dara RFC)
7. Niamh Hickey (Tullamore RFC)
8. Meadbh Scally (Mullingar RFC)

16. Emma Doolan (Port Dara)
17. Ellie Meade (Ardee RFC)
18. Nicola Gibson (Westmanstown RFC)
19. Ivanna Dempsey (Clane RFC)
20. Alex McGuinness (Wicklow RFC)
21. Jane Waters (Tullamore RFC)
22. Kate Farrell (Gorey RFC)
23. Caoimhe O’Callaghan (Dundalk RFC)
24. Rachel Winters (Wicklow RFC)