LEINSTER U19s – 31

Leinster came away from Galway with all five points from a five tries-to-one victory in the U19 Interprovincial Championship at Galwegians RFC on Saturday.

It isn’t too often that Leinster raid the Western Province emphatically and they needed a positive opening quarter to confirm their fine form heading into the competition. The plan all along has been to develop a two-sided attack in which patience is almost always a virtue.

They activated their phase game and kept the ball well enough to create gaps here and there which second row Brian Deeney exploited from the 22-metre line for out-half David Fitzgibbon to convert for 7-0 in the fifth minute.

It was more of the same off the top of a lineout as they increased the lead when their carrying game moved menacingly onto the frontfoot for tight-head Charlie Ward to crash over from close range for Fitzgibbon to double the advantage in the 14th minute.

After that, Connacht began to find their rhythm to apply heavy pressure to the Leinster line for no less than a 10-minute period. It looked like the breakthrough had to come sooner or later before Leinster captain Anthony Ryan executed a superb turnover.

The home side toiled away without reward as their willing forwards could not crack open their guests before half-time. The sample of Connacht’s continuity showed they were far from out of their depth or, indeed, the game. They had to secure the next points to make a dent in Leinster’s confidence.

The cutting edge they were missing at the end of the second quarter appeared not long after the interval when they struck for seven points from full-back Oran McNulty’s incision and out-half Dylan Prendergast’s conversion to make it a one-score scenario.

It was game on and Leinster were the ones with the gears, ramping up the intensity of their game to construct a third try for their powerful number eight Ed Brennan, born out of wing Mark O’Brien’s break up the left for 19-7 in the 51st minute.

That body blow was built on when centre Luis Faria was prominent in the lead-up to Michael McGiff’s finish into the right corner. It was left to loose-head prop Marcus Hanan to put the cherry on top with the fifth try from a smartly worked lineout and sharp work by replacement scrum-half Jack Connolly, Fitzgibbon converting seven minute from time.

This puts Leinster on course for a showdown with Munster, who clipped Ulster 34-22 at Cork Institute of Technology, and that will take place at Energia Park next Saturday 8th September (KO 3pm).

At Galwegians RFC – CONNACHT 7 (O McNulty try; D Prendergast con); LEINSTER 31 (B Deeney, C Ward, E Brennan, M Hanan, M McGiff try each; D Fitzgibbon 3 cons).


15. Oran McNulty Galwegians RFC
14. Bradley Nealon Ballina RFC
13. Diarmuid Kilgallen Cistercian Roscrea
12. Robert Deacy Oughterard RFC
11. Ben Murphy Buccaneers RFC
10. Dylan Prendergast Westport RFC
9. Tim Lambe Creggs RFC
1. Jerry Cahir, Cistercian Roscrea
2. Billy McVann, Ballina RFC
3. Liam Winnett, Buccaneers RFC
4. Fergus Galvin, Buccaneeers RFC
5. Iarlaith Morrin-Laheen, Galwegians RFC
6. Lucas Culliton, Cistercian Roscrea
7. Mathias O’Neill, Buccaneers RFC
8. Joshua Dunne Galwegians RFC.

16. Darren Browne Buccaneers RFC
17. Harry O’Reilly Buccaneers RFC
18. Thomas Connolly Galwegians RFC
19. Luke Carton Longford RFC
20. Hubert Costello Corinthians RFC
21. Evan Kenny Corinthians RFC
22.Adam Cunningham Galwegians RFC
23. Shane Jennings Ballinasloe.


15. Max O’Reilly St Gerard’s School
14. Andrew Smith St Michael’s College
13. Luis Faria Wanderers RFC
12. Michael McGiff St Fintan’s High School
11. Mark O’Brien St michael’s College
10. David Fitzgibbon Blackrock College
9 Adam McEvoy St Mary’s College
1 Marcus Hanan Clane RFC
2 Mark Nicholson Wicklow RFC
3 Charlie Ward Tullow RFC
4 Cian Prendergast Newbridge College
5 Brian Deeny Wexford Wanderers
6 Anthony Ryan (Capt.) Clongowes Wood College.
7 Tom Coghlan Clongowes Wood College
8 Edward Brennan Blackrock College, Capt.

16 Harry Noonan Greystones RFC
17 Bobby Sheehan Clongowes Wood College
18 Ryan McMahon Clongowes Wood College
19 Rory Wilson St Gerard’s School
20 Jody Booth St Michael’s College
21 Jack Connolly Gonzaga College
22 Paddy McKenzie Wicklow RFC
23 Michael O’Gara Presentation College, Bray