The Leinster Schools (Under-18) team, sponsored by BNY Mellon, defeated Connacht 34-0 in Wednesday afternoon’s interprovincial clash in Donnybrook…

Castleknock College winger Michael Mellett helped himself to a brace of tries on 5 and 34 minutes, with skipper Luke McGrath adding an injury time try to leave Leinster with a commanding 27-0 lead at half time after St. Gerard’s out-half Steve Crosbie had chipped in with four penalties on 3, 12, 15 and 22 minutes.

Connacht fought back bravely in the second half, but a 51st minute try by winger Mark Roche, Leinster’s fourth of the afternoon, was converted by Crosbie and Leinster’s defence wasn’t breached to kick off the interpro’ series on a high.

*The Leinster Schools (Under-18) team face Ulster in Donnybrook next Wednesday, 15th September (KO: 2.30pm)

LEINSTER SCORERS: M. Mellett (2 tries), L. McGrath, M. Roche (1 try each), S. Crosbie (4 penalties, 1 conversion)


15: Jack Fitzpatrick (Gonzaga College SJ) / Mark Rogers (CBC Monkstown) 45
14: Michael Mellett (Castleknock College) / Ben Howard (CBC Monkstown) 49
13: Conor McEllin (Blackrock College)
12: Rory Kavanagh (St. Michael’s College)
11: Mark Roche (Blackrock College)
10: Steve Crosbie (St. Gerard’s School)
9: Luke McGrath (St. Michael’s College) CAPTAIN / David Shanahan (Belvedere College SJ) 53

1: Edward Byrne (Clongowes Wood College SJ) / John Conroy (Belvedere College SJ) 61
2: Andrew Murphy (St. Michael’s College)
3: Adam Boland (Blackrock College) / Ken Murphy (Pres. Bray) 41 / Colin Grant (Newbridge College) 57
4: Jerry Sexton (St. Mary’s College) / Jack O’Neill (Castleknock College) 53
5: Gavin Thornbury (Blackrock College)
6: Conor Kilcoyne (Blackrock College)
7: Dan Leavy (St. Michael’s College)
8: Luke Satchwell (The King’s Hospital)


15: Philip O’Dwyer (Roscrea)
14: Marc Cleary (Presentation College Athenry)
13: Robbie Henshaw (Marist College)
12: Daragh Leader (St. Joseph’s College, The Bish)
11: Robert Keegan (Summerhill College)
10: Ross Keller (St. Joseph’s College, Garbally)
9: Craig Joyce (St. Joseph’s College, The Bish)

1: Bryan Teape (Marist College)
2: Thomas Ferrari (Sligo Grammar) CAPTAIN
3: Jamie Devers (Rice College)
4: Chris Ryan (Rice College)
5: David Heath (Sligo Grammar)
6: Sean O’Brien (St. Callasanctus College)
7: Paul Hackett (St. Callasanctus College)
8: Ryan Cummins (Dunmore Community School)


16: Dylan Connolon (Clongowes Wood College SJ)
17: Aodhan Glynn (St. Joseph’s College, The Bish)
18: Jason Connolly (Athenry Vocational College)
19: Diarmuid O’Dowd Hill (Sligo Grammar)
20: Barry Digby (Marist College)
21: Connor Fitzgibbon (Marist College)
22: Austin Gibbons (Sancta Maria College)

REFEREE: Ger English (IRFU)