Blackrock College 38 Belvedere College 5

Blackrock College marched into the Bank of Ireland Leinster Schools Junior Cup quarter-final at Energia Park on Monday afternoon.

The atmosphere aided a pulsating opening in which Belvedere used hooker David Dowse and prop Cian Russell to make ground and out-half Jed Tormey to nudge the ball into the corner where they won a lineout.

It was all the invitation Belvo’ needed, their pack driving forward for flanker Odhran Dillon-Kelly to claim the try in the seventh minute.

Blackrock then quickly warmed to the task, hooker Greg Barron and flanker Liam Molony doing well on the ball.

The latter popped up for two explosive carries as ‘Rock rolled forward impressively for tight-head Paddy McCarthy to pound out the last metres, out-half Zach Quirke squeezing the conversion inside the left upright for 7-5 in the 18th minute.

They were greedy for more, centre Hugh Cooney blazing away down the left where wing Daniel Magner made the tackle.

They looked on the verge from blindside Gus McCarthy’s leg-pumping charge, scrum-half Will Fitzgerald spilling the ball in the act of scoring.

Belvedere were holding on by their fingertips as desperate defence foiled Blackrock more than once.

The break came after number eight Kevin Jackson and captain Gus McCarthy went close when openside Molony powered home just on half-time.

Belvedere were able to start the second-half well with left wing Daniel O’Leary threatening on the left.

The more powerful ‘Rock forwards were soon on the rampage again, the number eight Jackson surging over from a 5-metre scrum for Quirke’s conversion to make it 19-5 in the 45th minute.

Then, their blindside Gus McCarthy sprinted over to confirm their passage to the quarter-finals and Jackson didn’t take long to follow suit, Quirke converting.

Wing Ethan Laing waltzed through for the sixth try to close the show.

Scorers – Blackrock College: K Jackson 2 tries; P McCarthy, L Molony, E Laing, G McCarthy try each; Z Quirke 4 cons; Belvedere College: O Dillon-Kelly try.

Blackrock College: Ruben Moloney; Cian Ryan (Charlie Leahy 49′), Hugh Cooney, Max Caskey (Federico Mei 49′), Ethan Long; Zach Quirke, Will Fitzgerald (Alex Yarr 56′); Cian O’Brien (Emmet Gulliver 54′), Greg Barron (Padraig Foley 45′), Paddy McCarthy (Maxime le Bail 45′), Samuel Green, Jamie McLoughlin (Tom Brigg 32′), Gus McCarthy (capt), Liam Molony (Maxwell Brophy 49′), Kevin Jackson.

Belvedere College: Cameron Daly; Daniel Magner, Louis Gaughan (Senan Hogan 52′), Michael Carmody, Daniel O’Leary; Jed Tormey (Thomas Mohan 50′), Conor O’Driscoll (Michael McGrath 52′); Conor Batemen (Sean McDonnell 50′), David Dowse (Karl Brennan 56′), Cian Russell (capt), Senan Coakley, Roy Richardson (Woody Kinsella 40′), Odhran Dillon-Kelly (Ryan Bolger 37′), Alessandro Biffi (Mark Perrey 56′), Ewan Smith.

Referee: Niall Behan, Leinster Branch.