The Ireland Women’s Team to play France in the opening game of the 2018 Women’s 6 Nations has been named.

Head Coach, Adam Griggs has named a new look side which includes one new cap in the starting XV, Old Belvedere and Leinster’s Megan Williams, who has been previously capped at 7s. Williams has been named on the wing while the uncapped Laura Feely is named on the bench.

In total there are nine Leinster players selected in the match day 23.

Kim Flood is named at full back with Alison Miller joining Williams on the wing. Claire McLaughlin and Sene Naoupu make up the centre partnership while Niamh Briggs is at out-half and Ailsa Hughes named scrum-half.

In the forwards, Lindsay Peat, Cliodhna Moloney and Fiona Reidy make up the front row with an all-Leinster pairing of Ciara Cooney and Orla Fitzsimons named in the second row.

Anna Caplice and Claire Molloy will join Captain Ciara Griffin to complete the pack.

Speaking ahead of the clash, Griggs said, “The opening game of this tournament is always going to be a challenge and France in front of their home crowd is immense.

“However, the squad have had good preparation over the last 2 weeks and are excited and focused on the challenge at hand to start our campaign off with a positive performance.”

Tickets for the Ireland Women’s home games in Donnybrook are available now via

The IRFU is offering a bus subsidy of up to 400 euro per club for private transport hire. For more information on the bus subsidy for the 2018 Women’s Six Nations, contact before purchasing tickets.

Ireland Women Team & Replacements (v France Women, 2018 Womens 6 Nations Championship, Stade Ernst Wallon, Toulouse, Saturday, February 3, kick-off 9pm local time/8pm Irish time)

15 – Kim Flood (Railway Union/ Leinster)
14 – Megan Williams (Old Belvedere/ Leinster) *
13 – Claire McLaughlin (Cooke/ Ulster)
12 – Sene Naoupu (Railway Union/ Leinster)
11 – Alison Miller (Portloaise /Connacht)
10 – Niamh Briggs (UL Bohemian / Munster)
9 – Ailsa Hughes (Railway Union/ Leinster)
1 – Lindsay Peat (Railway Union/ Leinster)
2 – Cliodhna Moloney (Railway Union/ Leinster)
3 – Fiona Reidy (UL Bohemian/ Munster)
4- Ciara Cooney (Railway Union/ Leinster)
5 – Orla Fitzsimons (St Mary’s/ Leinster)
6 – Anna Caplice (UL Bohemians/ Munster)
7 – Claire Molloy (Bristol / Connacht)
8 – Ciara Griffin (Tralee/ Munster) Captain

16 – Leah Lyons (Highfield/ Munster)
17 – Laura Feely (Galweigians/ Connacht) *
18 – Ciara O’Connor (Galwegians/ Connacht)
19 – Nichola Fryday (Tullamore/ Connacht)
20 – Paula Fitzpatrick (St Mary’s/ Leinster)
21 – Mary Healy (Galwegians/ Connacht)
22 – Nikki Caughey (Railway Union/ Ulster)
23 – Mairead Coyne (Galwegians / Connacht)

*denotes uncapped player at this level

Ireland Women’s Six Nations Fixtures 2018

Saturday 3rd February 2018
France Women v Ireland Women, 9pm (local) / 8pm (GMT), Stade Ernst Wallon, Toulouse

Sunday 11th February 2018
Ireland Women v Italy Women, 1pm, Donnybrook Stadium, Dublin

Sunday 25th February 2018
Ireland Women v Wales Women, 3pm, Donnybrook Stadium, Dublin

Sunday 11th March 2018
Ireland Women v Scotland Women, 1pm, Donnybrook Stadium, Dublin

Friday 16th March 2016
England Women v Ireland Women, 5.30pm, Ricoh Arena, Coventry