Women’s rugby makes its return this weekend with the Bank of Ireland Paul Flood and Paul Cusack Cup competitions kicking off on Sunday, 5 September.

Twenty-five teams across the province will compete over four weekends with the finals taking place on Saturday, 25 September.

In an exciting first round fixture, the current holders of the Paul Flood Cup, Tullow RFC will face Railway Union RFC J1 in Tullow. A feature fixture in the opening round of the Paul Cusack cup sees Portlaoise take on Clondalkin.

Leinster Rugby Women’s Section Chairperson Eugene Noble said, “Leinster Rugby are delighted to provide the opportunity for the women’s teams within the province to take their first step in their return to playing rugby by taking part in the Paul Flood and Paul Cusack Cups. We look forward to building on this through increased participation within our clubs.”

Following the cup competitions, the Leinster Leagues commence in early October with a record number of teams participating across five divisions.

Leinster Rugby Women’s Section Competitions Officer, Kelly Ann Conroy added, “We are delighted to be able to once again return to the pitches throughout the province. We hope all our teams are looking forward to some games. Thank you to all the clubs for their continued work and support.”

Bank of Ireland Paul Flood Cup First Round

Tullow RFC v Railway Union RFC J1 (KO 1pm)
DCU RFC v Old Belvedere RFC J1 (KO 1pm)
Clontarf FC v Gorey RFC (KO 1pm)
CYM RFC v Mullingar RFC (KO 1pm)

Tullamore RFC
Edenderry RFC
Balbriggan RFC
Blackrock College RFC J1

Bank of Ireland Paul Cusack Cup First Round

Garda/Westmanstown v Naas RFC (KO 1pm)
Longford RFC v Arklow RFC (KO 1pm)
Portlaoise RFC v Clondalkin RFC (KO 1pm)
Wanderers RFC v Greystones RFC (KO 1pm)
Tallaght RFC v Wicklow RFC J1 (KO 1pm)
New Ross RFC v Kilkenny RFC (KO 1pm)

Enniscorthy RFC
MU Barnhall RFC