Each year, Leinster Rugby presents the Hall of Fame award for outstanding contribution to the game within the province. It was first presented in 2007 and, now sponsored by Guinness, is still awarded at the Leinster Rugby Awards Ball each year.

Hall of Fame

2007 – Philip Orr

Philip Orr is a former Irish international (58 caps), making his debut against France in 1976, and British and Irish Lion (1977). He played with both Dublin University and Old Wesley in Dublin where he continued his involvement in a non-playing capacity. He was President in their centenary season of 1991-92. Orr held a variety of roles on committees within both Leinster and the IRFU before becoming president of the national governing body in July 2017.


2008 – Jack Kirwan

Jack Kirwan held the position of Palmerston FC club representative to the Leinster Branch for 19 seasons, and was influential in their merger with De La Salle RFC. He later became president of the Leinster Branch for the 1989-90 season. The current DLSP facilities, Kirwan Park, are named in his honour while he is also inducted in their hall of fame, along with Leinster Rugby’s.


2009 – Dr Bill Mulcahy

Leinster and Ireland rugby legend Dr Bill Mulcahy was inducted into the Guinness Hall of Fame. Mulcahy, a former UCD, Bective Rangers and Skerries captain, played on two Lions tours in 1959 and the 1962 tour to South Africa. In doing so, he, along with teammate Niall Brophy became the first players from the UCD club to represent the Lions. A hugely popular administrator after retirement, he became Skerries’ first President of the Leinster Branch in season 1995/96, the inaugural year of the Heineken Cup.


2010 – Paddy Madigan

Paddy Madigan enjoyed a distinguished career playing rugby before then giving years to his club, province and country in an administrative capacity. He represented both Belvedere College and Old Belvedere, whom he captained. He toured Argentina with the Ireland team in 1970 but was not issued a cap as the Pumas were then a non-International Board country. He was president of the Leinster Branch in 1976-77.


2011 – Niall Brophy

As well as representing Leinster, Ireland and the British and Irish Lions, Niall Brophy went on to become president of Blackrock College RFC (1985-86), the Leinster Branch (1981-82) and the IRFU (1997-98). Brophy toured twice with the Lions, missing out on a cap in 1959 due to injury but playing twice in the 1962 trip to South Africa. Since retirement, he has been awarded such honours as Rugby Writers of Ireland Hall of Fame, UCD Team of the Century and also has the Blackrock College RFC gym named in his honour.


2012 – Eddie Thornton

Eddie ‘Ned’ Thornton is heralded as one of the most unique and insightful characters to ever play the game within the province. He represented both Terenure College RFC and UCD, winning two Leinster Senior Cups with each. He also held a variety of roles within the Leinster Branch in coaching and administrative field including president for 1999-2000.


2013 – Eddie Coleman

Eddie Coleman was only the second Terenure College RFC man to become president of the IRFU, a title he held in 2000-01. He had, as a player, captained the club to Leinster Senior League titles. His induction into the Hall of Fame was a show of appreciation for his contribution to the game at all levels.


2014 – Kevin Flynn

Former Ireland centre Kevin Flynn who won 22 caps over three decades and scored five tries including a famous one at Twickenham in 1972, regaled the attendees at the Leinster Awards with the tale of how they were denied the chance to win an historic Grand Slam when the Scots and Welsh refused to travel due to the Troubles.


2015 – John Moloney

John Moloney is a former Ireland and British and Irish Lions player, having toured South Africa with the Lions in 1974. A product of the proud St Mary’s College RFC club, he captained them to the centenary IRFU All-Ireland Cup in 1975. He also had the distinction of captaining Ireland among his 27 caps.


2016 – Ollie Campbell

Former Ireland fly-half Ollie Campbell, won 22 caps for the country scoring a remarkable 217 points. He was an influential member of the 1982 Triple Crown winning team as well as being the leading scorer in that year’s championship. He was capped seven times by the British and Irish Lions across the 1980 and 1983 tours to South Africa and New Zealand.


2017 – Prof. Arthur Tanner*

On the field, as well as being a hugely popular member of the Leinster Rugby backroom team, Arthur Tanner played club rugby and then doctored for Old Wesley RFC. Arthur first began looking after Leinster during the 1996-97 season and was with the team until the end of the 2013/14 season which fittingly ended with a PRO12 triumph in the RDS Arena. During that time he also worked with the Irish Youths’ team, the Ireland A team and the national senior team.


2018 – Paul McNaughton

Paul McNaughton was the very definition of a ‘sports man’. As well as representing Leinster and Ireland in rugby, he also played soccer for Shelbourne and Bray Wanderers while a stint with Wicklow’s senior footballers was also achieved. McNaughton won 15 caps for Ireland before emigration to Chicago halted his international career. He served as both Director of Rugby and Chairman of Leinster as well as Ireland Team Manager from 2008-11.


2019 – Paul Dean

Paul Dean represented Ireland from 1981-89, amassing 32 caps and 19 points. He was a Triple Crown winner with Ireland in 1982 and 1985 and he played against Wales and Australia at the inaugural Rugby World Cup in 1987. Dean went on win 32 caps for Ireland between 1981 and 1989, scoring 19 points. He was selected to travel with the British & Irish Lions on the 1989 tour of Australia and featured in the opening match against Western Australia before injury prematurely ended his tour. Dean is an honorary life member and former past president of St. Mary’s College RFC. In November 2016, he became Ireland Team Manager.

*awarded posthumously